BJP 'Murdered Democracy' In Manipur To Remain In Power: Congress

Ajay Maken additionally accused the Manipur Meeting speaker of failing to take well timed motion. (File picture)

New Delhi:

The Congress accused the BJP on Thursday of murdering democracy in Manipur by its sinister efforts to stay in energy.

Congress’s senior spokesperson Ajay Maken alleged that the Bharatiya Janata Occasion (BJP) has violated each rule within the statute and used each unethical trick, together with misuse of probe companies, to stay in energy within the northeastern state.

“For the reason that declaration of the election outcomes for the 11th Manipur Legislative Meeting, there was a sinister effort by the BJP to put in their celebration in energy.

“The BJP has violated each rule in statute, used each unethical trick within the sport, and misused the premier investigative company to retain energy in Manipur. And in your complete course of, they’ve murdered democracy,” he mentioned in a press release.

Mr Maken identified that after the outcomes of the 11th Meeting election have been declared in Manipur, which threw up a fractured mandate with the Congress getting 28 seats, BJP 21, NPP 4, NPF 4, LJSP one, AITC one and one Unbiased, the grand previous celebration was not invited by the governor to type the federal government.

As an alternative, the invitation was prolonged to the BJP, which cobbled up a post-election alliance with the remaining events, he mentioned.

The Congress chief mentioned the current political turmoil within the northeastern state got here from the principle ruling celebration itself, when three BJP MLAs resigned, together with 4 ministers of the Nationwide Folks’s Occasion (NPP).

This, he mentioned, was primarily because of the “undemocratic” functioning of the BJP-led authorities, the place all selections have been reportedly taken by Chief Minister N Biren Singh, with out consulting ministers and MLAs.

Ajay Maken additionally accused the Manipur Meeting speaker of failing to take well timed motion on varied petitions filed below the 10th Schedule of the Structure.

He alleged that the speaker handed a sequence of orders in a pick-and-choose methodology, disqualifying three MLAs who supported the “no-confidence movement” moved by the Congress, whereas an anti-defection disqualification petition towards three different legislators of the grand previous celebration, who continued to assist the BJP authorities, was dismissed.

The Congress chief alleged that the speaker, a day earlier than the Rajya Sabha election, with out even issuing discover to the lone All India Trinamool Congress (AITMC) MLA, disqualified him and disadvantaged him of his proper to forged vote.

In all, 4 MLAs who would have voted for the Congress candidate within the Rajya Sabha election have been disqualified and 4, who have been supporting the BJP, have been allowed to retain their seats within the Meeting, he mentioned.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here