Manipur Chief Minister Reallocates Portfolios After Political Crisis

Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh has reallocated portfolios of ministers.


Having overcome a political disaster following a patch-up with disgruntled ally NPP, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh has reallocated portfolios of ministers, shedding a few of his personal departments which have now been allotted to his deputy Y Joykumar Singh.

The Deputy Chief Minister, who’s from NPP, has received Finance, Science & Expertise and Economics and Statistics portfolios, in keeping with an official order issued by Chief Secretary J Suresh Babu.

The Chief Minister retains Dwelling, Personnel, Planning, Basic Administration Division, Vigilance, Transport, Minor Irrigation, Tourism and Minority Affairs.

He may also maintain Different Backward Lessons, Scheduled Caste, Info Expertise, Housing and City Improvement, Horticulture and Soil Conservation and some other departments not allotted particularly, the order issued late Sunday night time added.

Earlier, Joykumar Singh was divested of many portfolios and was left with solely the cost of the civil aviation division.

Bother had began for the BJP-led coalition authorities in Manipur after the chief minister withdrew ll main portfolios from the his deputy for criticising him at a public operate.

It lastly resulted in resignation of the 4 NPP MLAs from the ruling coalition final month.

The remainder three NPP ministers retain the departments they’d earlier than the resignation.

With the return of the 4 NPP ministers, the BJP-led coalition has maintained the identical set of ministers.

The train additionally dashed hopes of some BJP legislators and Congress defectors of turning into ministers.

One other ally – the Naga Individuals’s Entrance (NPF) with 4 legislators within the 60-member Home – which was demanding parity with NPP within the cupboard, additionally didn’t make any contemporary good points.

Whereas NPP has 4 ministers, the NPF has two members within the cupboard.

As per constitutional provisions, there generally is a most 12 ministers within the state, together with the chief minister.

Concerning three different NPP ministers within the authorities, Irengbam Arunkumar, Media Advisor to the Chief Minister, informed PTI Monday that the resignation letters submitted by 4 NPP ministers have been by no means accepted, therefore they might proceed to carry the identical portfolios they’d earlier.

Accordingly, Langpoklakpam Jayantakumar Singh retains Well being and Household Welfare, Regulation and Legislative Affairs, Artwork and Tradition and Command Space Improvement Authority; Letpao Haokip is the minister for Water Sources, Youth Affairs and Sports activities and N Kayisii is minister for Tribal Affairs, Hill Areas Improvement and Fisheries, the Media Advisor to the CM mentioned.

The political drama in Manipur was triggered by the resignation of 9 ruling coalition legislators, together with 4 NPP ministers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here